Capturing the American Dream One Client at a Time

Arrested for OWI or DUI in Fort Wayne?

Hire a Competent Allen County Criminal Defense Lawyer

Facing charges for OWI/DUI? Whether it is your first offense (typically a misdemeanor) or a subsequent offense (a misdemeanor), retaining representation right away is in your best interest. These charges are prosecuted harshly in Allen County, and law enforcement often makes mistakes in order to make an arrest. No matter the circumstances of your arrest, our Fort Wayne OWI/DUI attorney at The Law Office of Jon J. Olinger, LLC is here to help. Our legal team has extensive experience representing all types of OWI and DUI charges.

We're here to discuss your charges during a free consultation. Reach out to us at (888) 488-4005 or contact us online.

Understanding DUI/OWI Charges in Indiana

A person may be charged with DUI/OWI if they have a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08% or higher while operating a vehicle. An individual who is underage (who should not be consuming alcohol) can be arrested for operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02 or higher. In the state of Indiana, strict laws have been established to punish those convicted of DUI/OWI and keep others safe on the road. If law enforcement pulls you over and believes you to be intoxicated, you may face charges. Depending on your alleged BAC, you could face increased penalties for BAC readings much higher than 0.08%.

A few examples of the penalties you could face include:

  • Jail time: Ranging from no jail time for a first offense to up to 3 years in jail for a third offense.
  • Fines: Ranging from $500-$5,000 for a first offense to $10,000 in fines for a third offense within 10 years.
  • Community service: You may be granted community service as an alternative to jail time.
  • Alcohol education: A state-approved alcohol/drug education program is required. You may also be required to go to drug or alcohol abuse treatment.
  • Ignition interlock: If you are granted restricted driving privileges, you may be required to use an ignition interlock device.
  • License suspension: Your license may be suspended from a period of up to 2 years for a first offense to up to 10 years for a 3rd offense.
  • Probation: You may be required to serve a probationary period for a third offense.

If you refuse breathalyzer testing, you will face an immediate driver's license suspension with no privileges. Depending on the charges, the time period of suspension you face could be up to two years.

Take Action & Hire an Allen County DUI/OWI Lawyer

After being arrested for or charged with DUI (or OWI), the first step you should take is consulting a Fort Wayne criminal defense attorney. If our legal team can get involved in the legal process early on, we have a better chance of securing a positive outcome. This may include investigatory work, negotiating with prosecutors or judges, and speaking to witnesses, if appropriate. There are many defense strategies which might be appropriate for your case, all of which we can explore.

As your case progresses, you can rely on us to keep you involved every step of the way. We are dedicated to aggressively protecting your rights.

To schedule a free case review, give us a call at (888) 488-4005.

Providing Sound Legal Advice And Solid Information From Which To Make Good Life Decisions

Get started with a free initial consultation today. See how attorney Olinger can help you.

Contact Us

What Makes Jon J. Olinger Unique?

  • Individualized Attention

    Provides a Personalized Experience

  • Experience

    Over 20 Years of Business Experience

  • Free Consultations

    Offer Free Initial Case Evaluations

  • Holistic Approach

    Handles a Variety of Legal Issues